"Fossies" - the Fresh Open Source Software Archive

Member "portsentry-2.0b1/CREDITS" (8 Apr 2002, 7471 Bytes) of package /linux/privat/old/portsentry-2.0b1.tar.gz:


As a special service "Fossies" has tried to format the requested text file into HTML format (style: standard) with prefixed line numbers. Alternatively you can here view or download the uninterpreted source code file.

    1 $Id: CREDITS,v 1.32 2002/03/27 22:19:01 crowland Exp crowland $
    2 
    3 Thanks to the following people who offered testing and bug fixes/suggestions. I 
    4 apologize if I've forgotten anyone. (No particular order on this list either):
    5 
    6 Jeff Johnson <trn@flinet.com> - Initial tester. Recommended ipfwadm addition.
    7 
    8 Ted Serreyn <tserreyn@serreyn.ml.org> - Initial tester and bug reports.
    9 
   10 Les Fenison <les@cybcon.com> - Reported problems with logging of ignored hosts. 
   11 
   12 Dave Andersen <angio@aros.net> - FreeBSD testing. ipfw syntax for 
   13 configuration file.
   14 
   15 Anonymous - HPUX testing and compile flags.
   16 
   17 Superuser <root@triad.jadegate.com> - Lots of suggestions and general 
   18 discussions...
   19 
   20 Timothy Luoma <luomat@peak.org> - NeXT Step fixes/bug testing/various
   21 suggestions and a really nice NeXTStep software archive (ftp.peak.org)!!
   22 
   23 Marcus Butler <marcusb@wspice.com> - Sharing ideas, suggestions and
   24 testing.
   25 
   26 Forrest Aldrich <forrie@navinet.net> - FreeBSD testing and comments.
   27 
   28 Drew Levandoski <drew.levandoski@nationsbank.com> - HPUX testing and compile
   29 flags.
   30 
   31 Yaron Yanay <yarony-cert@vipe.technion.ac.il> - Additional UDP ports to 
   32 exclude in advanced mode.
   33 
   34 Andrew Raphael <raphael@research.canon.com.au> - Binary and source RPMs.
   35 
   36 Samuli Karkkainen <skarkkai@woods.iki.fi> - Helped in debugging Advanced mode
   37 problem with SSH connection failures to Windows boxes.
   38 
   39 System Administrator <phaeton@clubi.net> - Slackware testing and confirmation.
   40 
   41 <mparson@smartnap.com> - Linux Alpha testing.
   42 
   43 Alex Petrov <sysman@pd.gov.lv> - Lots of comments concerning code clean-up and
   44 general efficiency recommendations.
   45 
   46 Dmitry Prokhorov <dip@hq.bereg.net> - Patches to add $PORT$ token and fixes to
   47 install scripts.
   48 
   49 Rich Homolka <rich@stg.com> - Reported problem with binding over port 61000 for 
   50 advanced mode was due to ip masquerading feature in Linux kernels.
   51 
   52 Vesselin Atanasov <vesselin@bgnet.bg> - Patch to handle scan flooding
   53 attacks (not included in this version for other reasons, but I thank him
   54 for sending them in).
   55 
   56 Lukasz Zalubski <chopin@ceti.com.pl> - Mirrored tools to Europe.
   57 
   58 Matthias Lohmann <lohm@lynet.de> - Solaris porting and testing.
   59 
   60 Don Bindner <dbindner@vh224401.truman.edu> - Found typo in UDP attack
   61 logging that logged it as TCP attack.
   62 
   63 Jon Coyle <jonco@sco.COM> - VERY helpful in testing for SCO. Also made up
   64 HTML pages and man pages. I should be paying him!!
   65 
   66 Brian D. Winters <brianw@alumni.caltech.edu> - Pointed out some compile
   67 errors on various Linux platforms and submitted fixes. Also made
   68 suggestions for areas of code cleanup. 
   69 
   70 Jeremy T. Bouse <undrgrid@UnderGrid.net> - Made Debian packages of Sentry
   71 as well as Debain init scripts and install scripts (not included yet).
   72 
   73 Jeremy Hinegardner <jeremy@meru.cecs.missouri.edu> - Testing on SGI platforms.
   74 
   75 Densin Roy. <den@ftp.loxinfo.co.th> - Suggested adding $PORT$ macro to command
   76 execution.
   77 
   78 <lburns@sasquatch.com> - NetBSD testing.
   79 
   80 Dr. Stefan Demetrescu <stefand@xenon.stanford.edu> - Discussions concerning
   81 the smart-verify timeout (or lack thereof) and recommendations on future
   82 additions and fixes. 
   83 
   84 Sean Amon <amon@cis.ohio-state.edu> - Solaris testing and fixes.
   85 
   86 Eric Hines <hostmaster@galatia.com> - Solaris testing and fixes.
   87 
   88 David LaPorte <david_laporte@harvard.edu> - Alpha Linux testing. Sent in
   89 route drop command for new RedHat 6.0 systems (-reject flag).
   90 
   91 Joshua Chamas <joshua@chamas.com> - Solaris testing.
   92 
   93 Tom Briglia <Tom.Briglia@Corp.Sun.COM> - Solaris testing.
   94 
   95 Roger Books <books@mail.state.fl.us> - Solaris testing and fixes.
   96 
   97 Steven Walker <smw8923@zeus.olympus.cmsu.edu> - RedHat init scripts and RPMs.
   98 
   99 Dominic J. Eidson <sauron@the-infinite.org> - AIX testing.
  100 
  101 Christopher P. Lindsey <lindsey@mallorn.com> - Patch to get version 0.90
  102 and below to work in stealth modes on older Linux systems/systems with
  103 oddball tcpip.h files. Also helped in testing and debugging. Found bug in 
  104 .ignore processing that wouldn't skip commented out lines. Contributed script 
  105 to automatically setup ignore file on system startup by parsing ifconfig.
  106 Found bug in ignore functions that would sometimes mis-compare IP's (also
  107 lead me to find similar bug in isBlocked function).
  108 
  109 Adrian <jimbud@arborlink.com> - Submitted bug report for 2.2.9 kernels with
  110 respect to possible UDP struct change (dest vs. u_dport). 
  111 
  112 Thomas Molina <tmolina@home.com> - Made binary and source RPMs for 0.90 of
  113 PortSentry. 
  114 
  115 Steve Marple <s.marple@lancaster.ac.uk> - Reported bug in commenting
  116 out of .ignore file entries.
  117 
  118 Graham Allan <ALLAN@mnhep1.hep.umn.edu> - Sent in compile options for 
  119 Digital OSF Unix. Sent in route flags for same.
  120 
  121 Ian Quick <ian@bork.org> - Sent in a fix for the ipchains rule to insert
  122 blocks into filter list correctly.
  123 
  124 Reuven Gevaryahu <gevaryah@netaxs.com> - Found a nasty bug where if
  125 you setup to ignore either a tcp or a udp event an attacker could
  126 activate the detector, cause the blocked file to be written to and
  127 then activate the side you *wanted* the blocking to occur on and
  128 have Sentry ignore them. A big thanks for finding this!
  129 
  130 Jayakrishnan Krishnan <saljxk@tank.agl.uh.edu> - Reported the problem
  131 on the latest build not ignoring hosts in the .ignore file.
  132 
  133 Garth Brown <garthb@semaphore.com> - Also reported a problem with .blocked
  134 file mis-reading blocked hosts and submitted a fix.
  135 
  136 Morio Taneda <taneda@sozio.geist-soz.uni-karlsruhe.de> - Submitted a
  137 *really cool* patch to use netlink with PortSentry. I'm sorry I didn't have 
  138 time to implement this, but it is on my short list of fixes to put in after
  139 1.0 is released. A big thanks for this!!
  140 
  141 Howard Arons <hlarons@ComCAT.COM> - Suggested using LOCAL0 for possible syslog
  142 configuration in config.h file.
  143 
  144 Guido Guenther <guido.guenther@uni-konstanz.de> - Sent in bug fixes, Debian packages, comments, 
  145 and many other contributions.
  146 
  147 Christophe Rolland <crolland@freesurf.fr> - Wrote in to correct bug in .conf
  148 file where I watched first 1025 ports instead of first 1024. Now advanced modes will watch
  149 ports 1023 and below.
  150 
  151 Ralf Hildebrandt <R.Hildebrandt@tu-bs.de> - Sent in route kill command for HPUX and fix
  152 for GCC under HPUX for Makefile.
  153 
  154 Graham Dunn <gdunn@inscriber.com> - Sent in KILL_ROUTE string for ipf filters.
  155 
  156 Peter M. Allan <peter.m.allan@hsbcgroup.com> - Found an increment error in the host state engine
  157 that could cause an error under certain configurations. Also contributed several fixes relating
  158 to function usage and cosmetics.
  159 
  160 Scott Catterton <scatterton@valinux.com> - Sent in new iptables support KILL_ROUTE command.
  161 
  162 Dino A Amato <Dino.A.Amato@lerc.nasa.gov> - Sent in Makefile strings for Irix
  163 
  164 Scott McCrory <scott@mccrory.com> - Sent in common DDOS daemon ports
  165 
  166 Per Jönsson <pt98pjo@student.hk-r.se> - Sent in changes to allow for
  167 ignoring networks/ports.
  168 
  169 Flower <floweros@golia.ro> - Sent in request to disable DNS lookups.
  170 
  171 Paul T. Kooros <kooros@titan.srrb.noaa.gov> - Sent in some code formatting issues that 
  172 were resolved. 
  173 
  174 Justin Pettit <jpettit@psionic.com> - Solaris fixes, proofreading, and lots of other stuff.
  175 
  176 Jeremy Fowler - Multiple feature and bug fixes including $SCAN$ type 
  177 reporting and rewrite of a couple of functions for better efficiency and reduction of 
  178 code. Consolidated and reduced redundant code in several places. Thanks Jeremy!
  179 
  180 
  181 Version 2.0 Contributors
  182 
  183 
  184 Jeremy Fowler - Sent in a load of patches to reduce code and add new 
  185 features. These are being applied as the product goes into Beta. Thanks 
  186 again Jeremy.
  187 
  188 
  189