"Fossies" - the Fresh Open Source Software Archive

Member "perl-5.32.1/dist/Storable/README" (18 Dec 2020, 4878 Bytes) of package /linux/misc/perl-5.32.1.tar.xz:


As a special service "Fossies" has tried to format the requested text file into HTML format (style: standard) with prefixed line numbers. Alternatively you can here view or download the uninterpreted source code file.

    1                          Storable 3.05c
    2                Copyright (c) 1995-2000, Raphael Manfredi
    3                Copyright (c) 2001-2004, Larry Wall
    4                Copyright (c) 2016,2017 cPanel Inc
    5 
    6 ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    7     This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
    8     it under the same terms as Perl 5 itself.
    9 
   10     This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
   11     but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
   12     MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
   13     Perl 5 License schemes for more details.
   14 ------------------------------------------------------------------------
   15 
   16 +=======================================================================
   17 | Storable is distributed as a module, but is also part of the official
   18 | Perl core distribution, as of perl 5.8. 
   19 | Maintenance is partially done by the perl5-porters, and for cperl by cPanel.
   20 | We thank Raphael Manfredi for providing us with this very useful module.
   21 +=======================================================================
   22 
   23 The Storable extension brings persistence to your data.
   24 
   25 You may recursively store to disk any data structure, no matter how
   26 complex and circular it is, provided it contains only SCALAR, ARRAY,
   27 HASH (possibly tied) and references (possibly blessed) to those items.
   28 
   29 At a later stage, or in another program, you may retrieve data from
   30 the stored file and recreate the same hiearchy in memory. If you
   31 had blessed references, the retrieved references are blessed into
   32 the same package, so you must make sure you have access to the
   33 same perl class than the one used to create the relevant objects.
   34 
   35 There is also a dclone() routine which performs an optimized mirroring
   36 of any data structure, preserving its topology.
   37 
   38 Objects (blessed references) may also redefine the way storage and
   39 retrieval is performed, and/or what deep cloning should do on those
   40 objects.
   41 
   42 To compile this extension, run:
   43 
   44     perl Makefile.PL [PERL_SRC=...where you put perl sources...]
   45     make
   46     make install
   47 
   48 There is an embedded POD manual page in Storable.pm.
   49 
   50 Storable was written by Raphael Manfredi <Raphael_Manfredi@pobox.com>
   51 Maintenance is now done by cperl, https://github.com/rurban/Storable/
   52 Note that p5p still ships an old broken version, without stack overflow
   53 protection and large object support. As long as you don't store overlarge
   54 objects, they are compatible.
   55 
   56 Please e-mail us with problems, bug fixes, comments and complaints,
   57 although if you have complements you should send them to Raphael.
   58 Please don't e-mail Raphael with problems, as he no longer works on
   59 Storable, and your message will be delayed while he forwards it to us.
   60 
   61 ------------------------------------------------------------------------
   62 Thanks to (in chronological order):
   63 
   64     Jarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
   65     Ulrich Pfeifer <pfeifer@charly.informatik.uni-dortmund.de>
   66     Benjamin A. Holzman <bholzman@earthlink.net>
   67     Andrew Ford <A.Ford@ford-mason.co.uk>
   68     Gisle Aas <gisle@aas.no>
   69     Jeff Gresham <gresham_jeffrey@jpmorgan.com>
   70     Murray Nesbitt <murray@activestate.com>
   71     Albert N. Micheev <Albert.N.Micheev@f80.n5049.z2.fidonet.org>
   72     Marc Lehmann <pcg@opengroup.org>
   73     Justin Banks <justinb@wamnet.com>
   74     Jarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi> (AGAIN, as perl 5.7.0 Pumpkin!)
   75     Todd Rinaldo <toddr@cpanel.net> and JD Lightsey <jd@cpanel.net>
   76       for optional disabling tie and bless for increased security.
   77     Reini Urban <rurban@cpanel.net> for the 3.0x >2G support and rewrite
   78     JD Lightsey <jd@cpanel.net>
   79 
   80 for their contributions.
   81 
   82 A Japanese translation of this man page is available at the Japanized
   83 Perl Resources Project <https://sourceforge.jp/projects/perldocjp/>.
   84 ------------------------------------------------------------------------
   85 
   86 The perl5-porters would like to thank
   87 
   88     Raphael Manfredi <Raphael_Manfredi@pobox.com>
   89 
   90 According to the perl5.8 Changes file, the following people have helped
   91 bring you this Storable release:
   92 
   93     Abhijit Menon-Sen <ams@wiw.org>
   94     Andreas J. Koenig <andreas.koenig@anima.de>
   95     Archer Sully <archer@meer.net>
   96     Craig A. Berry <craig.berry@psinetcs.com>
   97     Dan Kogai <dankogai@dan.co.jp>
   98     Doug MacEachern <dougm@covalent.net>
   99     Gurusamy Sarathy <gsar@ActiveState.com>
  100     H.Merijn Brand <h.m.brand@xs4all.nl>
  101     Jarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
  102     Mark Bixby
  103     Michael Stevens <michael@etla.org>
  104     Mike Guy <mjtg@cam.ac.uk>
  105     Nicholas Clark <nick@unfortu.net>
  106     Peter J. Farley III <pjfarley@banet.net>
  107     Peter Prymmer <pvhp@forte.com>
  108     Philip Newton <pne@cpan.org>
  109     Raphael Manfredi <Raphael_Manfredi@pobox.com>
  110     Robin Barker <rmb1@cise.npl.co.uk>
  111     Radu Greab <radu@netsoft.ro>
  112     Tim Bunce <Tim.Bunce@pobox.com>
  113     VMSperlers
  114     Yitzchak Scott-Thoennes <sthoenna@efn.org>