"Fossies" - the Fresh Open Source Software Archive

Member "coreboot-6625/util/superiotool/README" (24 Jan 2010, 3469 Bytes) of package /linux/misc/old/coreboot-6625.tar.gz:


As a special service "Fossies" has tried to format the requested text file into HTML format (style: standard) with prefixed line numbers. Alternatively you can here view or download the uninterpreted source code file.

    1 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    2 Superiotool README
    3 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    4 
    5 Superiotool is a user-space utility which can
    6 
    7  - detect which Super I/O chip is soldered onto your mainboard,
    8 
    9  - at which configuration port it's located (usually 0x2e or 0x4e), and
   10 
   11  - dump all register contents of the Super I/O chip, together with the
   12    default values as per datasheet (to make comparing the values easy).
   13 
   14 It is mainly used for coreboot development purposes (see coreboot.org
   15 for details on coreboot), but it may also be useful for other things.
   16 
   17 
   18 Installation
   19 ------------
   20 
   21  $ svn co svn://coreboot.org/repos/trunk/util/superiotool
   22 
   23  $ cd superiotool
   24 
   25 Optional: Edit the Makefile and set 'CONFIG_PCI = no' if you don't want to
   26 support PCI-attached "Super I/Os" (which needs libpci-dev) such as the
   27 VIA VT82686A/B southbridge with integrated Super I/O functionality.
   28 
   29  $ make
   30 
   31  $ sudo make install
   32 
   33 
   34 Usage
   35 -----
   36 
   37 Please read the superiotool(8) manpage or type 'superiotool --help'.
   38 
   39 Per default (no options) superiotool will just probe for a Super I/O
   40 and print its vendor, name, ID, revision, and config port.
   41 
   42 Typical usage of superiotool:
   43 
   44  - Probe/detect the Super I/O in your mainboard:
   45 
   46    $ superiotool
   47 
   48  - Register dump as table of hex-values of the Super I/O (if detected):
   49 
   50    $ superiotool -d
   51 
   52 
   53 Supported Super I/O Chips
   54 -------------------------
   55 
   56 Please see http://coreboot.org/Superiotool#Supported_devices, or type
   57 
   58  $ superiotool -l
   59 
   60 There's also a collection of sample register dumps from various Super I/O
   61 chips on that web page. Please send further register dumps (either from a
   62 proprietary BIOS and/or from coreboot) to the coreboot mailing list
   63 (http://coreboot.org/Mailinglist).
   64 
   65 
   66 Website and Mailing List
   67 ------------------------
   68 
   69 The main website is http://coreboot.org/Superiotool.
   70 
   71 For additional information, patches, and discussions, please join the
   72 coreboot mailing list at http://coreboot.org/Mailinglist, where most
   73 superiotool developers are subscribed.
   74 
   75 
   76 Copyright and License
   77 ---------------------
   78 
   79 Superiotool is copyrighted by a number of individual developers. Please
   80 refer to the respective source code files for details.
   81 
   82 It is licensed under the terms of the GNU General Public License (GPL),
   83 either version 2 of the license, or (at your option) any later version.
   84 
   85 
   86 Contributors
   87 ------------
   88 
   89 Anders Juel Jensen <andersjjensen@gmail.com>
   90 Andriy Gapon <avg@icyb.net.ua>
   91 Arjan Koers <0h3q2rmn2bdb@list.nospam.xutrox.com>
   92 Bingxun Shi <bingxunshi@gmail.com>
   93 Carl-Daniel Hailfinger <c-d.hailfinger.devel.2006@gmx.net>
   94 David Bartley <dtbartle@csclub.uwaterloo.ca>
   95 David Hendricks <david.hendricks@gmail.com>
   96 François-Regis Vuillemin <coreboot@miradou.com>
   97 Frieder Ferlemann <Frieder.Ferlemann@web.de>
   98 Idwer Vollering <idwer_v@hotmail.com>
   99 Ioannis Barkas <tripl3fault@yahoo.com>
  100 Josh Profitt <zorn169@gmail.com>
  101 Luc Verhaegen <libv@skynet.be>
  102 Michael Gold <mgold@ncf.ca>
  103 Michał Mirosław <mirq-linux@rere.qmqm.pl>
  104 Nikos Barkas <levelwol@gmail.com>
  105 Rasmus Wiman <rasmus@wiman.org>
  106 Robinson P. Tryon <bishop.robinson@gmail.com>
  107 Ronald Hoogenboom <hoogenboom30@zonnet.nl>
  108 Ronald Minnich <rminnich@gmail.com>
  109 Sean Young <sean@mess.org>
  110 Stefan Reinauer <stepan@coresystems.de>
  111 Tom Sylla <tsylla@gmail.com>
  112 Ulf Jordan <jordan@chalmers.se>
  113 Urja Rannikko <urjaman@gmail.com>
  114 Uwe Hermann <uwe@hermann-uwe.de>
  115 Ward Vandewege <ward@gnu.org>
  116